So I had this modesty moment yesterday.  I’ve been thinking about modesty a lot lately (having just finished writing, you know, thirty pages on it and all).  I’ve been coming to the realization that I can’t modestly wear t-shirts with writing across the front.  God just didn’t give me that kind of body.  But this is hard.  I have some t-shirts that have sayings that are funny, and wonderful, and bring joy to my heart, like “You’re mine for the next 3 min. 30 sec.” and “Need to dance.  Please help.  God bless.” and, “Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.” and the one all in Latin that, when translated, says “If you can read this you have too much education.”  I love them so much that it’s hard for me to care that they might be a problem for someone else.  Sigh. 

However, little by little I’ve been being convicted that I need to let go of the shirts.  It’s a respect thing.  I want to respect the men around me, and I want them to respect me too.  It’s hard to respect a girl when all your attention is being drawn to her chest.  So yesterday when I was packing, I went through all my t-shirts, pulled out the ones that have writing on the chest, and set them aside.  I knew it was the right thing to do, but I still didn’t like it much.  But then, something marvelous happened!  When I told Liv what I had done, she sympathised with me, and then said, “Well, what if you turned the shirts around so the writing is on the back?  You could wear them then, right?  You’d have to cut the tags out, of course.”  And I thought, well, why not?!  When I went home I tried the shirts on to make sure they fit the same, and then spent a very joyful five minutes cutting out garment tags.  It was great!  Hurrah!  I can still wear my shirts, and I am so happy. 

