I got back from the Boston Tea Party last night, and oh, my friends, I came this close to dancing with John Lindo!  Oh, it was heartbreaking.  Dancing with him is on my list of Things To Do Before I Die, but I had been planning to wait until I was out of the Beginning West Coast classes.  But then I took the workshop he gave, and I guess I got the courage to just go for it.  I went up to him afterwards and asked him if he would dance with me, that I was just beginning, but it was one of the things on my List.  He said to come grab him in the free dancing between competitions.  I was watching my opportunity like a hawk, but things didn’t click.  Finally it was do or die.  I had time for one dance before I had to jump on the shuttle to the airport.  I went and asked him, and he said he had to go get ready for his next thing, but as soon as he was done we would dance.  I said that I would miss him because of the shuttle, and he asked me if I was going to be at Summer Hummer, and told me that next time I could have two dances.  I grinned and said, “By the way, my name is Bernadette.”  He grinned and said, “I’m John.  It’s good to meet you!”  And it was good.  So we just have to pray that neither one of us dies before I see him again…

The highlight of my dancing weekend, however, was Friday night when I danced with Tybaldt.  That dance, it was… it was… Well, let me put it this way.  If that man weren’t so Happily Married w/Baby I would be offering to have his children right now.  Really.  It was that good.  It surprised the heck outta me.  To begin with, he asked me to dance.  He asked me.  And it was fun.  He led all the cool stuff, the spins and slides and grooving across the floor that people do in competitions and the crowd goes, “Oooooh!”  And I followed it!  It may not have been pretty, but I was there.  It was incredible.  I was grinning like a fool the entire time.  And this is the best part: so was he.  If you watch the video that the link on his name should take you to, there’s this moment halfway through where he grins.  Look at that face.  That’s pretty much how he looked our whole dance.  I swear.  And then we were done, and he said, “Thank you very much!”  I said, “Thank you very much!  That was fun!”  And he said, “Yeah!”  Then he went and asked someone else to dance, and I went and had an asthma attack.  So awesome.  I’m still half swooning just thinking about it. 

